Subaru is the automotive division of Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd. (FHI), which is based in Japan. FHI was established in 1953 and started to develop a car using aerospace technologies accumulated by aircraft manufacturer Nakajima Aircraft Ltd., which was the predecessor of FHI. In 1958, FHI introduced its first car, the Subaru 360, adopting its brand name, 'Subaru,' and symbol, the 'six-stars cluster,' which represents the Pleiades Star Cluster. In 1965, Subaru introduced the front-wheel-drive Subaru 1000 at the Tokyo Motor Show, which featured a four-cylinder horizontally opposed boxer engine. In 1972, Subaru took a bold step by introducing the first four-wheel-drive (4WD) vehicle designed specifically for everyday driving, the Leone 4WD Station Wagon. Until then, 4WD had been limited to off-road and specialty vehicles, giving the Leone 4WD the distinction of introducing the safety and performance advantages of 4WD to a whole new segment of drivers around the world. In 1989, the Subaru Legacy, which boasts both a horizontally opposed boxer engine and the latest in Subaru All-Wheel Drive (AWD), was launched, and by 2005 Subaru had sold three million of them. In 1992, Subaru introduced the Subaru Impreza, which won three consecutive World Rally Championship titles from 1995 to 1997. More recently, Subaru has placed third in the World Rally Championship manufacturers' standings in 2006, 2007, and 2008.

Read MoreRead Less