British automobile maker Jaguar began in 1922 as the Swallow Sidecar Company, which built stylish aluminum sidecars for motorcycles. By 1926, it was also producing custom bodies for other manufacturers' cars. In 1931, the company began building its own cars under the SS name, short for 'Standard Swallow.' In 1935, the company used the Jaguar name for the first time on a stunning new saloon and the SS Jaguar 100 sports car. After World War II, the company became Jaguar Cars, Ltd. The beautiful 120-mph XK120 sports car appeared in 1948. The racing version, called the C-type, won 24 Hours of Le Mans in both 1951 and 1953. In 1954, Jaguar introduced the more powerful XK140 sports car and the D-type racer, which won Le Mans in 1955, 1956, and 1957. The sensational 150-mph E-type sports car, introduced in 1961, was the most visually striking in a long line of attractive cars. Ford Motor Company acquired Jaguar in 1989, and has carefully preserved Jaguar's unique identity. Between 1992 and 1994, Jaguar produced 281 XJ220 supercars, and in 1996 launched the sleek, V8-powered XK-8 sports car. In 2009, Jaguar unveiled its supercharged sports car, the Jaguar XKR-S - a limited-edition track model that is the fastest XK car to date. For more than 70 years, Jaguar has maintained its vision of the well-bred sporting automobile, combining superior performance with unique style.

Read MoreRead Less